Relationships in PowerApps and the Common Data Model question…

Since I am unable to post comments directly to this page because Disqus is refusing to send a verification email, I am posting the question here and hope someone can provide answers.


I understand building relationships, but I need to be able to do more than use a relationship in a lookup. I need to be able to display related records from an entity based on a currently selected entity in a parent table.

For example, say I am building a work order tracking system for techs and customers. I have a work order entity and a work order history entity I would like to use. The work order tracks the original request from the customer while the history tracks the individual touch points a tech has made with the customer. I have a screen that displays the details of the work order. I want to be able to display the full history of the work order (and add more records) by going from the currently selected entity. This scenario is almost entirely missing, and in my opinion a much more common use of relationships in entities.

Are there plans to support related data in a much more comprehensive manner? If not, this could be a very limiting factor with using both the common data model and PowerApps since a lot of data structures make use of relationships to expose related data.

Leave a Reply

